Enseñar Inglés

For English:

Esta semana tuve la oportunidad enseñar un clase de ESL (Inglés como una lengua segunda), un lado completamente diferente de la educación de leguas. Fue experiencia interesante.

Tuve dos estudiantes a enseñar y, aunque la mayoría de las estudiantes eran hispanohablantes, una de mis estudiantes hablaba árabe como su lengua materna. Por eso, no podía traducir las lecciones y las palabras que ellas no sabía en español porque una de mis estudiantes no podía entender. Necesitaba ser muy atenta y identificar cuando mis estudiantes no entendían y luego necesitaba pensar en una manera para definir la palabra o el concepto ingleses en inglés más fácil. Esta fue particularmente difícil cuando estábamos hablando sobre homófonas. ¡Inglés es muy difícil!

Al mismo tiempo, los otros tutores estaban hablando en una mezcla de español e inglés para enseñar sus estudiantes. Mientras me gusta hablar en español y quiero practicar la lengua, creo que mi manera de estructura era más beneficio a mis estudiantes. Sin ofender a los otros tutores, (si ambos estudiantes eran hispanohablantes había hecho la misma cosa) pero ¿para aprender una lengua inmersión es la técnica mejor sí?

Bueno, era muy interesante ser en el otro lado de educación de lenguas. Podía ver y empatizar con sus pruebas con vocabulario limitado y la inhabilidad comunicar sus ideas porque no saben cómo se dice.

Aunque, es muy importante distinguir entre yo, que quiero aprender español porque me interesa la lengua, y ellos que necesitan aprender inglés porque es la lengua de su país nueva. Por más que creo que la educación de lenguas es muy importante, también es importante recordar que mi educación es voluntaria y hay privilegio considerable en esta.


Teaching English

This week I had the opportunity to teach an ESL class (English as a second language), a completely different side of language education. It was an interesting experience.

I had two students to teach and, even though most of the students were Spanish-speakers, one of my students spoke Arabic as her native language. For this reason, I could not translate the lessons and the words that they did not understand in Spanish because one of my students would not be able to understand. I needed to be very attentive and identify when my students did not understand and then I needed to think of a way to define the English word or concept in easier English. This was particularly difficult when we were talking about homophones. English is really hard!

At the same time, the other tutors were talking in a mix of English and Spanish to teach the students. While, I like to speak in Spanish and I want to practice the language, I think my style of teaching was more beneficial for my students. No offense to the other tutors, (if both students were Spanish-speakers I would have done the same thing) but isn’t immersion the best way to learn a language?

Anyway, it’s very interesting to be on the other side of language education. I could see and empathize with their struggles with limited vocabulary and the inability to communicate their ideas because they didn’t know how to say them.

Anyway, it’s very important to distinguish between me, who wants to learn Spanish because I’m interested in the language, and them who need to learn English because it’s the language of their new country. As much as I believe that language education is important, it’s also important to remember that my education is voluntary and there is considerable privilege in that.

Leave a Reply

