Let the adventure continue

For English:

Ha sido un rato desde escribí algo en este blog. No fue porque era perezosa o estaba teniendo demasiada diversión. En verdad, fue el opuesto problema.

Cuando me dé cuenta que ya no quería estar en Ecuador me sentí desagradecida y aislada pero más me sentí derrotada. No quería decir a nadie que quería salir del país porque parecía que todos los otros estudiantes estuvieron felices y enamorados con Ecuador y yo pensé que ellos pensaran que yo estaba siendo dramática.

Estaba intentando amar al Ecuador como lo amé en las semanas anteriores. Quería amar al Ecuador pero querer amar algo no es el mismo como amar algo. Para mí todo ha cambiado y me sentía que no encajé aquí.

Cualquiera vez en que alguien corrigió mi español o no pudo entenderme debido a mi falta de conocimiento de vocabulario o gramática fue un recuerdo que fui una extranjera, que Ecuador no era mi patria y por eso el país sería mejor sin mí. Era una molestia, una tonta, una gringa y esta no iba a cambiar.

Cuando me dije eso a algunos de mis amigos, fueron compasivos y intentaron a ayudarme pero no me entendieron. Fue imposible. No me entendí. Pero también no estoy segura cómo empecé sentir mejor.

Recuerdo que una amiga estuvo de acuerdo con mis sentimientos. Ella pensaba que fueron justificados porque había personas que me trataron como una forastera, o una invasora, o una gringa porque siempre va a ser personas como eso, pero también había personas que me trataron como una persona, o una diligente estudiante de español, o una amiga. Me sugirió que debo enfocarme en esas personas.

En las dos semanas pasadas, estaba pensando en esas personas y las otras experiencias que valieron la pena en Ecuador y estoy muy agradecidas por todas de esas. Estoy agradecidas para cualquier ecuatoriano que he conocido que nunca me burló de mi español o me llamó gringa, que dedicó tiempo para conocerme como una persona con pensamientos y sentimientos, que me invitó al almuerzo o café o helado como una amiga, que me trató como una invitada en su país no una invasora indeseada. Ustedes son la razón más grande que quiero quedarme aquí por el resto del semestre.

No sé que será durante mi segunda mitad del semestre. Es posible que voy a conocer más personas que van a usarme como una gringuita tonta o hacer cualquier cosa para hacerme a sentir inoportuna en este país, pero quiero que siempre habrá gente buena que puede recordarme que mi tiempo en Ecuador vale la pena.

Pues, deja que a la aventura continua.

Firmé aquí en la luz del sol. Let it go. Let it gooooooo!

Firmé aquí en la luz del sol.
Let it go. Let it gooooooo!


It’s been awhile since I’ve written in this blog. It’s not because I was lazy or I was having too much fun. Truthfully, it was the opposite problem.

When I realized that I didn’t want to be in Ecuador anymore I felt ungrateful and isolated but mostly I felt defeated. I didn’t want to tell anyone that I wanted to leave the country because it seemed like everyone else was happy and in love with Ecuador and I thought they would think I was being dramatic.

I was trying to love Ecuador like I did in the weeks before. I wanted to love Ecuador but wanting to love something is not the same as loving something. To me everything had changed and I felt like I didn’t belong here.

Anytime someone corrected my Spanish or couldn’t understand me because of my lack of grammatical knowledge or vocabulary it was a reminder that I was a stranger, that Ecuador wasn’t my home and therefore the country would be better off without me. I was a nuisance, an idiot, a gringa and that wasn’t going to change.

When I told some of my friends, they were supportive and tried to help me but they didn’t understand me. It was impossible. I didn’t understand me. But also I’m not sure how I started to feel better.

I remember that one friend agreed with my feelings. She thought that they were justified because people had treated me like a foreigner, or an invader or a gringa because there will always be people like that, but also there were people that treated me like a person, or a diligent Spanish student, or like a friend. She suggested I focus on those people.

In the past two weeks, I’ve been thinking about these people and other worthwhile experiences en Ecuador and I’m very thankful for them. I’m thankful for every Ecuadorian that I’ve me that has never made fun of my Spanish or called me a gringa, that took the time to get to know me as a person with thoughts and feelings, that invited me to lunch or for coffee or ice cream like a friend, that treated me like a guest in this country not an unwanted invader. You all are the biggest reason that I want to stay in Ecuador for the rest of the semester.

I don’t know what will come during my second half of the semester. It’s possible that I meet more people that will use me like a stupid little gringa or so something to make me feel unwelcome in this country, but I hope that there will always be good people who can remind me that my time in Ecuador is worthwhile.

So, let the adventure continue.

One thought on “Let the adventure continue

  1. ¡Hola! Don’t worry about the people who can’t understand you and be sensitive towards you. Those people are everywhere, even in your own country and there’s no point in ruining your mood over them. Focus on the people that support you and remember that this is a once in a lifetime experience. There are people who wouldn’t even dear to step in their front porch, let alone stay to a different country. ¡Anímate chica! Esta es una experiencia de las pocas.Saludos desde Grecia🙂

Leave a Reply

